This page has beta status

COST Countries

COST is an intergovernmental framework that includes 35 Member Countries and one Cooperating State. This allows researchers from these countries to embark upon networking opportunities by participating in science and technology networks called 'COST Actions'. However, COST Actions do not limit participation to scientists from COST Member Countries only...

COST Member Countries

COST's 35 Member Countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

COST's Member Countries play an important role in the governance of COST and are represented by delegates in the COST Committee of Senior Officials (CSO). 

Cooperating State

Israel is a Cooperating State. A Cooperating State implies non-voting membership in the COST CSO and in the Domain Committees. However, researchers from COST's Cooperating State enjoy member rights in COST Action participation.

...And beyond

In order to support science and technology networking across borders, COST is also working on enhancing international cooperation by involving researchers from Near Neighbour Countries and International Partner Countries in COST Actions on the basis of ascertained mutual benefit.

In addition, COST signed Reciprocal Agreements to increase cooperation with New Zealand, South Africa and Argentina. 

* powered by e-COST


Last updated: 25 July 2013 top of page

Follow COST on

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • YouTube