CA19112 - Women on the Move

  • Description
  • Parties
  • Management Structure


Women on the Move is a transdisciplinary network of European researchers who focus on historic and contemporary female labour mobility spanning six centuries to the present. The objective is to show the presence and economic contribution of female migrants in European history by revealing women as active migrants and builders of Europe - with economic means, belongings, assets and social networks - capable to overcome gendered obstacles. This will contradict macro-narratives that present women as vulnerable migrants and economic burdens. Focusing on women’s labour mobility will raise the current debates on migration by unveiling women’s skills and agency, as well as their constraints and limits as economic actors. The Action suggests a multidimensional and multi-factorial interpretation of migration dynamics and tackles in-migration, out-migration and internal migration in a long perspective to highlight consistencies and exceptions in European historic migration patterns. This will bring out local idiosyncrasies and challenge global narratives on female migration. Women on the Move will create a repository of sources on female migration and will dialogue with policy makers. The Action will organize exhibitions (in- and out-door) to reach out to the public on women’s presence in European migration history and their contribution to the European economy. In keeping with the European Union’s Gender Equality Strategy 2018-2023, the Action will thus challenge gender-blind perceptions of European migration and deconstruct sexist stereotypes. Women on the Move will bring about informed dialogues on European migration, with knowledge on historic and contemporary women’s economic potential, labour power, cultural and social belongings, and networking. 


Action Details

  •   MoU - 015/20
  •   CSO Approval date - 24/03/2020
  •   Start of Action - 23/04/2020


Action Leadership Positions

  • Action Chair
  • Action Vice Chair

Management Committee

Main Contacts

Dr Marie-José Ruiz
Dr Mickael PERO
Science officer
Ms Svetlana VOINOVA
Administrative officer