Section menu links

Section menu links

Event calendar

previous year September 2018 next year

2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29


Foresight on Future Demand for Forest-based Products and Services: Dissemination Conference

Location Sekocin Stary (Near Warsaw)/Poland
Date 13 September 2011  | 9:00 - 18:00
Calendar file .vcs  .ics

The aim of the COST Strategic Workshop series 2010-2011 was to carry out a wide-angle foresight exercise on the future demand for multiple forest-based products and services. The project combined expert workshops and a collection of data and perceptions by means of internet-based tools.

Foresight Forestry

The final conference was an event held under the patronage of the Polish EU Presidency. It presented results of the workshop series and provided an insight in the state-of-the-art of recent foresight and futures-oriented exercises carried out in the forest-based sector. Furthermore, the needs and ideas for new foresight exercises were discussed. Back to back with the conference there was a workshop held about foresight in and for forest strategies together with forest strategy experts and practitioners in Poland.

Target group

The event provided a forum for representatives from academia, public administration, interest groups and civil society organisations both within the forest sector and parallel sectors.

Programme overview

The programme featured keynote speakers that presented the forest sector futures orientations in a wider societal and global perspective, providing experience on foresight exercises carried out in the forest sector and related other sectors, as well as short presentations of the new activities planned in the field of forest-based sector foresight.

List of participants

  • Kais Abdelmoula - INRGREF, Tunisia
  • Victoria Andreeva - BSPU, Belarus
  • Sjur Baardsen - COST FPS Domain Committee, Norway
  • Laszlo Bacsardi - University of West Hungary, Hungary
  • Oleg Baranov - Forest Institute of National Academy of Science of Belarus, Belarus
  • Annemarie Bastrup-Birk - University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Elena Bobu - COST FPS Domain Committee, Romania
  • Magnus Carlquist - Lund University, Sweden
  • Zofia Chrempińska - Association of Foresters and Wood Technologists, Poland
  • Bernard de Galembert - CEPI, Belgium
  • Radovan Despot - COST FPS Domain Committee, Croatia
  • Veerle Dossche - FERN, Belgium
  • Jhonathan Ephrath - COST FPS Domain Committee, Israel
  • Diana Feliciano - The James Hutton Institute, United Kingdom
  • Werner Förster - FTP, Belgium
  • Annette Freibauer - SCAR Foresight vTI, Germany
  • Maria Gafo Gómez-Zamalloa - European Commission, DG Agriculture and Rural Development, Belgium
  • Ander González-Arias - NEIKER, Spain
  • Martin Greimel - COST FPS Domain Committee, Austria
  • Marek Grzeskiewicz - Warsaw University of Life Sciences – SGGW, Poland
  • Lauri Hetemäki - European Forest Institute, Finland
  • Ionela Magdalena Ichim - RNP-ROMSILVA, Romania
  • Leena Ilmola-Sheppard - International Institute for Applied System Analysis IIASA, Austria
  • Dirk Johann - Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria
  • Christoph Klose - University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Totti Könnölä - Impetu Solutions, Spain
  • Peter Mayer - Federal Research and Training Centre for Forets, Natural Hazards and Landscape, Austria
  • Bartlomiej Mazela - Poznan University of Life Sciences, Poland
  • Jon Moen - Umeå University, Sweden
  • Olivier Mora - INRA Prospective Studies, France
  • Ihor Neyko - Vinnytsya National Agricultural University, Ukraine
  • Klaus Niemelä - COST FPS Domain Committee, Finland
  • Tuula Nuutinen - Finnish Forest Research Institute METLA, Finland
  • Carl Olsmats - Innventia, Sweden
  • Tomasz Oszako - COST FPS Domain Committee, Poland
  • Risto Päivinen - EFI, Finland
  • Hubert Palus - Technical University in Zvolen, Slovak Republic
  • Jan Parobek - Technical University in Zvolen, Slovak Republic
  • María Pasalodos - CIFOR-INIA, Spain
  • Piotr Paschalis-Jakubowicz - Association of Foresters and Wood Technologists (SITLiD), Poland
  • Päivi Pelli - European Forest Institute, Finland
  • Ed Pepke - European Forest Institute, Finland
  • Mariano J. Perez Campos - AIDIMA, Spain
  • Jean-Luc Peyron - GIP-ECOFOR, France
  • Anita Pirc Velkavrh - European Environment Agency, Denmark
  • Eugenij Ponomarev - Institute of Forest, Krasnoyarsk - Russia
  • Kalliopi Radoglou - COST FPS Domain Committee, Greece
  • Xin-Ying Ren - COST Office, Belgium
  • Ulrich Schraml - University Freiburg, Germany
  • Metodi Sotirov - University of Freiburg Germany
  • Kiril Sotirovski - COST FPS Domain Committee, fYR Macedonia
  • Natalia Tolkacheva - Forest Institute of Belarus, Academy of Science, Belarus
  • Jussi Uusivuori - IUFRO, Finland
  • Juha Vaajoensuu - Tekes, Finland
  • Dijana Vuletić - Croatian Forest Research Institute, Croatia
  • Gavril Xanthopoulos - National Agricultural Research Foundation, Greece
  • Lyudmyla Zahvoyska - Ukrainian National Forestry University, Ukraine
  • Tomasz Zawila-Niedzwiecki - IBLES Forest Research Institute, Poland
  • Marek Zdanowski - CSO COST, Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Poland
  • Petar Zhelev - COST FPS Domain Committee, Bulgaria
  • Miodrag Zlatic - COST FPS Domain Committee, Serbia

Share this COST Event


Please contact the conference officer if you wish to receive an invitation to the event at

Restricted Area

The files are protected. Please provide your .

Contact Information

Ms Antje Teegler
Conference Officer
COST Office
Avenue Louise 149
B-1050 Brussels
Tel. +32 2 533 38 57
Fax +32 2 533 38 90