COST Near Neighbour Countries

COST encourages researchers from Near Neighbour Countries to participate in COST Actions on the basis of mutual benefit.

COST is engaged in a strategy supporting and encouraging participation of Near Neighbour Countries in COST’s Science and Technology networks, the COST Actions.

COST Near Neighbour Countries include Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Egypt, Georgia, Jordan, Kosovo*,  Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Russia, Syria, Tunisia and Ukraine.

Researchers affiliated to institutions in Near Neighbour Countries can participate in COST Actions on the basis of ascertained mutual benefit ( see rules for participation ). Their participation has to be approved on a case by case basis by the Executive Board on behalf of the CSO, the COST Governance body.

Once their participation is approved, researchers from Near Neighbour Countries’ institutions can participate in the COST Action on the same basis as the COST Countries that have signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) – with the exception of the right to vote in the Management Committees or Working Groups of the Action.

Additionally, Near Neighbour Countries' institutions can be represented by a total maximum of two members in the Management Committee of a COST Action.

Up to two researchers from Near Neighbour Countries, one per institution, can be eligible for reimbursement to the Management Committee of the COST Action.

*This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.


Last updated: 25 May 2018 top of page